Thank you for your support

To start off, I want to say I’m ever so grateful for all of the love and support you have given me. It feels unreal, almost like a movie that I can now say that I’m honoured t have been given the role of being on the school council.

Thank you allhillary-clinton very much. A very rowdy group. Thank you, my friends. Thank you.

Thank you so much for being here and supporting me from the beginning. I love you all. This is not only my success but the success of all those who have supported me through this. Last night, I congratulated Donald trump for how far he has come: it most definitely had not been the easiest time for either for us to be honest with you all this has been a stressful time for both of us. I’m so thankful to have you all besides me through this because I wouldn’t have made it this far without each of one you.

I hope that I will be a successful councillor for all of you. This is the outcome we wanted and worked so hard for and I’m proud to say we did it for the values we share and the vision we hold as a school.

I feel pride and gratitude for this wonderful campaign that we built together. This vast diverse, creative, unruly, energized campaign. You represent the best of the school, and being your candidate had been one of the greatest honours of my life.

I know some of you will be disappointed, as this may not have been the outcome for you. I Hillary Clinton promise you that I will work with not will only those who supported me but with all who didn’t because I strongly believe as a school we are much stronger. But I want you to remember this, I plead that you tell me any concerns or suggestions you have as I will listen to them and do the best I can do to come up with a solution for them.

Our campaign was never about one person, or even one election. It was about the school we love and building it into a hopeful, inclusive, and big-hearted place where everyone can be who they want to be. We have seen that the this school is more deeply divided than we thought, certain groups excluding themselves; my goal is to make sure that we can all unite as a school and make sure we can get rid of any divisions and make sure that nobody feels excluded from our community. I believe in this school, and I always will.  We can work together as school to get rid of any issues and make sure that the school is a place where everyone feels safe but most importantly happy.

We don’t just respect that. We cherish it. It also enshrines the rule of law; the principle we are all equal in rights and dignity; freedom of worship and expression. We respect and cherish these values, too, and we must defend them. So let’s do all we can to keep advancing the causes and values we all hold dear. Making our school work for everyone and an amazing place to be.

And breaking down all the barriers that hold any students from achieving their dreams. I strongly believe that the schools dream and aspirations are big enough for everyone. For people of all races, and religions, for men and women, for immigrants, for LGBT people, and people with disabilities. For everyone.

 

I am so grateful to stand with all of you to make this school the best it will ever be. I want to thank the school for giving me this opportunity to run as the councillor for this school and most importantly my family and friends for being with me all the way and motivating me on this difficult journey. I’m so astounded with the amount of support I have received, from the bottom of my heart I love you all and I’m excited to run as your school councillor.

I want each of you to know that you were the best campaign anybody could have ever expected or wanted. I want everybody coming out from behind that and make sure your voices are heard going forward. And so we need you to keep up these fights now and for the rest of your lives. And to all the women, and especially the young women, who put their faith in this campaign and in me: I want you to know that nothing has made me prouder than to be your champion.

Finally, I am so grateful for our school and for all it has given to me. I still believe, as deeply as I ever have, that if we stand together and work together with respect for our differences, strengthen our convictions, and love for this school, our best days are still ahead of us. Because, you know, I believe we are stronger together and we will go forward together. And you should never, ever regret fighting for that. I am incredibly honoured and grateful to have had this chance to represent all of you. May God bless you and may God bless this school.

http://www.vox.com/2016/11/9/13570328/hillary-clinton-concession-speech-full-transcript-2016-presidential-election

 

Leave a Reply

